Visitor Counter


PDGA Divisions

Signing up for the correct division can make a huge difference in enjoying a tournament. The PDGA has guidelines that will help you sign up for the correct division.

New Divisions

As the sport of disc golf continues to grow, so must the way in which it is organized. One of the changes we saw in 2017 was the debut of a dedicated World Championships event for professional age-based divisions and, as many of you already know, we'll see our junior divisions getting their own dedicated World Championships event in 2018. So we're excited to announce another change for 2018 that affects players of all age-based divisions and introduces a couple of new divisions as well.

Starting in 2018, the Professional Disc Golf Association will be adding two new age-based competition divisions for both Professional and Amateur class players. These new divisions will split the previous Grandmasters and Senior Grandmasters age-based divisions into a total of four divisions with minimum PDGA competition ages of 50, 55, 60, and 65. These age breaks are being implemented to better align the PDGA with physiological age breaks used in other sports, including the National Senior Games, which uses a system of divisions starting at age 50 in 5-year increments.

PDGA 2018 Changes

PDGA 2018 Tour Standards

If you are a PDGA member and have a rating you can easily see what divisions you qualify to play in by comparing your rating to the following chart. If you do not have a PDGA rating then you can determine your approximate rating a couple ways. The best way is to compare your score at a previous tournament to other rated players at that tournament. If this is your first tournament then you can compare your average score at a course with previous tournaments at that course. However, it is important to note that normally a course plays more difficult during a tournament due to additional OB lines, slower play and the pressure of competition.